Pumpkin Cornbread with Roasted Sunflower Seeds

Katie:  With the cool, rainy fall weather, I’ve been in the mood for soup lately.  To accompany the soups I’ve been making, I’ve tried out a few new bread recipes.  Since I enjoyed this recipe for Pumpkin Cornbread and this recipe for Whole Wheat Sunflower Bread, I decided something in-between might be even better.  The bread I came up with turned out pretty good.  It would probably go really well with chili.  I served it with this recipe for Pear Parsnip Soup, using the parsnips I found at the farmers market this weekend.  Here’s my recipe for the bread:

Pumpkin Cornbread with Roasted Sunflower Seeds

  • 1/2 cup roasted and salted sunflower seeds*
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg and 2 egg whites (or 2 eggs)
  • 1 cup pumpkin or squash puree
  • 1/4 cup maple or agave syrup (next time I’ll try honey)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

*If you’re using raw sunflower seeds, toss them with 1/2 teaspoon olive oil and 1/2 teaspoon salt and bake on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes (or until slightly browned) in a 350 degree F oven. Let cool before incorporating into the bread batter.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9x4x3 inch baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cornmeal in a medium mixing bowl.
  3. Whisk together the eggs, pumpkin, oil, and syrup in a large bowl.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.  The batter will be thick. Fold in the sunflower seeds.
  5. Pour batter into the prepared pan.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  The bread should be lightly brown and a toothpick should come out clean.  Remove from oven and let rest in the pan for 10 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.
  6. Enjoy!

4 responses to “Pumpkin Cornbread with Roasted Sunflower Seeds

  1. Wow, you are a creative baker! Good job on blending the recipes. The bread looks good.

  2. The bread was really good. I wasn´t surprised that Katie came up with the recipe herself, since she´s a very inventive person – especially if one of the ingredients is pumpkin. I´m curious what will be next…. Maybe pumpkin-peppermint casserole, or pumpkin-peanutbutter-cups, or pumpkin-burgers….

  3. The bread looks great!!!
    Pumpkin burgers? I think you’re on to something. How about pumpkin-black bean salad? I’ve had sweet potato black bean salad which has some spices and is really quite good!

  4. Looks good! I would never think of making something like that, but I’m sure I would like it!

Leave a comment