Spicy Roasted Pumpkin and Sunflower Seeds

Katie:  Since I can’t buy canned pumpkin where I live, I often roast pumpkins to make my own pumpkin puree.  Usually, I throw the seeds in the compost with the shell, but today I decided to try using them.  After having great results with this recipe for Whole Wheat Sunflower Bread from Joy the Baker last week (which went great with homemade roasted carrot soup), I decided to try her recipe for Spicy Roasted Pumpkin and Sunflower Seeds.  I followed the recipe as written, only increasing the baking time a little at the end, and they turned out really well.  They were a mixture of sweet and spicy, an addictive snack!  Even if you’re not in the habit of roasting your own pumpkins, you could probably use any raw seeds found at the grocery store for this tasty snack.

4 responses to “Spicy Roasted Pumpkin and Sunflower Seeds

  1. These look really good. How spicy were they? Did you go full strength on the cayenne pepper? The bread sounds really good too!

    • I probably used about 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper. They were more flavorful than spicy, probably a “medium” on the spiciness scale. They would probably still be good without any cayenne pepper, since there are lots of other spices included.

  2. Those look really good! I’ll bet they were delicious!

  3. Those were absolutely delicious. I´ve been eating them for 4 days in a row now and they didn´t lose any awesomeness!

Leave a comment