Image

Hungrig?

Hungrig?

The only Swedish I learned while in Sweden was tack (thank you) and hungrig (hungry). Well, since yesterday was Sweden’s National Day and I was feeling a little hungrig, I decided to make an almond cake with strawberries and whipped cream. It turned out well, but I won’t post the recipe since it had some glaring errors (no mention of what to do with the dry ingredients!).

I should note that Sweden’s National Day is a relatively new holiday, celebrated first in 2005. It’s not popular with everyone there, partly because many Swedes consider Midsummer to be their national day. Even though I am not Swedish, I can’t pass up an opportunity to pull out the herring and aquavit and bake a delicious cake.

8 responses to “Hungrig?

  1. That looks fantastic! Nice photo! Hungrig is also the German word for hungry and Tak is Danish for thank you. 🙂

  2. That looks great! I really like almond flavor in desserts! Did you really have herring and aquavit?

  3. Oooh that looks wonderful! You could open a bageri! (That was one more memorable Swedish word for me!)

  4. I am hungrig just looking at the picture!! Was it a moist cake?

Leave a Reply

