Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup

Katie:  Since I’m on my own for meals this week, I decided to take the opportunity to try a few new recipes. It was chilly here today, so I decided to make some soup.  I found this recipe for Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup from Martha Stewart.  It took awhile to roast the beets, but otherwise this soup was really simple to make.  I forgot to add the lemon juice, but it still tasted great.  I ate it with a dollop of ricotta, which was the perfect accompaniment!

Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup (slightly adapted from Whole Living)

  • 3 medium beets
  • olive oil
  • 6 unpeeled garlic cloves
  • 1 large leek, thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon Italian herbs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Drizzle beets with olive oil and roast in parchment-lined foil for 1 hour or until tender.  Drizzle the garlic cloves with oil (I roasted a whole head), wrap in foil, and roast for 30-40 minutes.  Unwrap beets, let cool, peel, and quarter.  (Be careful not to get the juice on your clothes!) Squeeze garlic from skin. Set aside.
  2. Heat 2 teaspoons olive oil in a pot over medium heat. Add the leek and cook, stirring, until tender, about 6 to 8 minutes. Add beets and garlic, the herbs, the bay leaf, and 3 cups water.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove the bay leaf. Let the soup cool slightly, then transfer to a blender and puree.  Adjust the seasonings to taste.  Serve with ricotta cheese or sour cream, as desired.

To go with my soup, I decided to use some leftover salmon in quesadillas.  I followed this recipe for Salmon and Kale Quesadillas, which turned out great!  If I made them again, I might try added other spices or some tomatoes, but I really enjoyed this combination of flavors.

6 responses to “Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup

  1. Das könnte sogar mir schmecken – auch wenn ich die grünen Sachen aus der Tortilla nehmen würde ;). Sieht sehr lecker aus, Katie!

  2. The salmon quesadilla looks good, but I’m not sure about the beet soup. Maybe I should try a little.

  3. Those both look good! I do love beets and I’ve discovered that I like kale more than I previously thought.

  4. Thanks! I think this was my first time trying kale, and I thought it was pretty good. I also made a sweet potato and kale wrap. The beet soup was really delicious and pretty simple to make!

  5. Looks so colorful!!

  6. Pingback: Quinoa Salad with Roasted Beets, Chickpeas, and Mango | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

