Image

Dulce de Leche Cheesecake Bars

IMG_2434

Katie:  Ever since I saw this picture of Salted Caramel Dulce de Leche Cheesecake Bars from Made with Pink, I was smitten.  I had heard of dulce de leche, a rich caramel sauce popular in Latin America, but never baked with it or even eaten it.  I couldn’t find it at the store, so I decided to make it myself.  It was really quite simple to make.  I just followed the instructions here, by baking sweetened condensed milk in a pan in the oven until the sugar caramelized.  I probably could have cooked it a little longer to further caramelize it and make it more golden in tone, but I was afraid that it might burn.

For the cheesecake bars, I followed the original recipe from Bon Apetit as written.  First, I made a graham cracker base with a hint of cinnamon.  Next, I layered on a rich filling of cream cheese sweetened with the dulce de leche. Finally, I topped the bars with a dulche de leche glaze and sprinkled them with sea salt.  They may be a bit lighter than their predecessors, but  they still tasted great!  These were definitely worth the extra effort!  

3 responses to “Dulce de Leche Cheesecake Bars

  1. Wow! Are these good! Great job Katie!

  2. These were so good! My quilter friends loved them too!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  3. Wow, looks fantastic! I’ll have to make these sometime.

Leave a Reply

