Slab Apple Pie

Matthew:  I spent a beautiful fall Sunday at the apple orchard and wanted to use the apples right away for some baking.  I opted for a slab pie, which is sort of like a really big turnover.  And, by really big, I mean that I used 3 sticks of butter and 15 apples!  The pie weighed in at about 6.5 pounds.  I’ll be sharing this with all my friends and probably freezing some too.  For the recipe, I followed the crust and baking instructions from this Smitten Kitchen recipe and just filled the pie with 15 thinly sliced apples, mixed with 1 cup brown sugar, a good sprinkling of cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg.  The pie turned out really well.  I think the crust-to-filling ratio is good and I like the extra glaze that goes on top.

4 responses to “Slab Apple Pie

  1. Wow! 6 1/2 lbs is an impressive apple pie! It looks really good! My mom used to make these. She called them apple squares. I always loved them.

  2. These made for a delicious work day snack! And the pictures from the orchard are AMAZING! haha

  3. Yes! Great photos and the dessert looks great!!!

Leave a Reply

