Corn Relish

Matthew:  Well, I’m not sure that I’m ready to try canning at home yet, but I was curious about the corn relish that we canned for the food pantry.  I  made approximately 1/3 of this recipe, using corn, red bell pepper, onion, and a hot reddish/orangish pepper.  I also added a little extra liquid (water and vinegar) since it seemed like it needed more.  After it was done cooking, I let it cool in the fridge overnight and then tried it the next morning.  I was glad that the corn still had a crunch to it.  The red pepper adds a nice sweetness to contrast the vinegar.  I put the relish on a few different things, including a black bean burger, a fried egg on toast, a baked potato, and just some corn chips.  I was pleasantly surprised with how good this was.

2 responses to “Corn Relish

  1. Nice pictures! It looks a lot like the relish we made. You’ll have to let us know if you want to try canning something when you visit sometime. I don’t think I’d want to try it alone, but it’s much more doable as a group!

  2. That looks so tasty! We’ll have to make some soon!

Leave a Reply

