A Tale of Two Desserts

Katie:  I was in the mood to bake this week, and I ended up making two very different desserts:  Sweet Potato Cookies and Red Wine Chocolate Cake!

While making roasted sweet potatoes for dinner, I ended up having an extra sweet potato which I decided to bake.  This recipe for Pumpkin Spiced Oatmeal Cookies from Skinnytaste looked really good, so I pureed the sweet potato and substituted it for the canned pumpkin in the recipe.  I also toasted the oats in a pan to enhance their flavor and added chocolate chips.  These cookies turned out well and were a yummy, yet fairly healthy, treat!

For my second dessert, I turned to something much more decadent.  When I saw this recipe for Red Wine Chocolate Cake from Smitten Kitchen, I was definitely smitten.  I was intrigued to see what chocolate cake with 3/4 cup red wine would taste like.  I prepared the recipe as written, but didn’t make the whipped mascarpone topping, since I didn’t have those ingredients.  I ended up baking it for 30 minutes, just until it was set.  I almost had a cake disaster trying to flip it over, but I was able to hide most of its scars with some powdered sugar.  This cake tasted great!  It was rich and moist.  The wine was subtly noticeable and complimented the chocolatey flavor well.

3 responses to “A Tale of Two Desserts

  1. Both desserts were great! The chocolate cake was really moist and tasted like a really decadent flourless chocolate cake. You could taste the cabernet merlot just a little. The cake was great warmed up in the microwave and then topped with ice cream! Yum! It was so good it had some for breakfast two days in a row.

    I really like the cookies too, which surprised me since I wasn’t too sure about sweet potatoes being used. Next I’m looking forward to some pumpkin desserts that I’m sure Katie will be making! 🙂

  2. jillpickle: Great desserts!!! I especially loved the chocolate cake! The best cake I’ve ever eaten!!!

  3. I would have never thought of putting red wine in a chocolate cake, but I drink red wine with chocolate desserts frequently, so it makes sense. I’ll have to try the combination sometime. I bet the sweet potato made some good cookies too.

Leave a Reply

