Canning 101

Katie:  When my mom asked me if I wanted to take a pickle making class with her, I was kind of reluctant.  Canning pickles sounded like a pasttime for little old ladies.  But she was pretty persistent, so I agreed to try it.  When we got to the class, I was surprised that I wasn’t the youngest participant.  There was a span of about 3 generations of women gathered to learn how to properly can pickles.

Canning is also more scientific than I expected and involves exact methods and safety precautions.  The class was taught by Master Food Preservers through the UW Extension program.  While canning is somewhat time consuming, it was fun doing it as a group and sharing the work.  We worked together chopping and adding ingredients, and learned about the proper methods along the way.

After learning to can pickles, we also took a salsa canning class, which was even more popular.  We used 100 pounds of tomatoes and each took 2 cans of salsa home with us.  We also recently volunteered to can corn relish using locally grown and donated produce for a local food pantry, which became my brother’s introduction to canning.

Now that we’ve been able to learn the proper techniques, we’ve gotten the equipment ourselves and are looking forward to experimenting with other recipes and making gifts for others!

Useful Links:

2 responses to “Canning 101

  1. I can’t wait to try the pickles. You have to wait a month while they cure!

  2. Looks like some tasty treats! I’m glad you gave it a try!

Leave a Reply

