Eggplant, Tomato, and Mozzarella Tart

Katie:  Compared to the beginning of summer, the farmer’s market seems to be offering a wider variety of produce as the summer goes on.  We’ve gotten heirloom tomatoes a few times, which have been very flavorful.  Last weekend, I also bought some small purple eggplants.  I wanted to try something different with them,  so I tried this recipe for Eggplant, Tomato, and Smoked Mozzarella Tart from Cooking Light.  I couldn’t find smoked mozzarella at the store, so I just used regular mozzarella cheese, and I skipped the mint leaves and just added extra basil.  My tart doesn’t really look like the picture in the recipe, but I think it turned out pretty well for my first tart.  The fresh herbs and heirloom tomatoes made it very flavorful.  I was also able to convince two non-eggplant eaters to try it!   I might try a variation of this recipe again, maybe with other roasted vegetables, such as zucchini.

3 responses to “Eggplant, Tomato, and Mozzarella Tart

  1. I’m one of the non-eggplant eaters who tried the tart and thought it was really good! Nice job on your first tart ever!

  2. This was a tasty tart!!

  3. Looks good with the eggplant! I would try that.

Leave a Reply

