Baba Ganoush

Matthew:  I recently discovered that I love eggplant.  Now that it’s in season, I want to take advantage of all the local eggplant I can get ahold of.  I first tried grilling it and now I blackened, roasted, and pureed it into baba ganoush.  I found this recipe from food writer David Lebovitz.  He recommends serving it as an appetizer with toasted bread or pitas.  You could also pair it with grilled meats and vegetables for a more substantial dish.  To prepare the eggplant, you have to put it under the broiler (or grill it) and then bake it in the oven until it is soft.  Then, you just scoop out the inside and puree it with tahini, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, and salt.  It’s actually really easy to make and you can adjust the flavors at the end based on your preferences.  My first batch that used two eggplants is almost gone, so I’ll have to go get some more while they are still around at farmer’s markets!

4 responses to “Baba Ganoush

  1. YOU’LL HAVE TO MAKE IT FOR US SOMETIME!!

  2. I’ve made this before too. Yours sounds really good!

  3. This is really good on pretzel crackers! Thanks for making some for us Matt!

  4. Thanks for making this for us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

