Strawberry Cardamom Crumb Cake

Matthew:  I was recently looking around in Penzeys Spices at all the interesting spices and seasonings and I decided, on a whim, to buy some cardamom.  I had never baked or cooked with it before, but I remembered seeing recipes that called for it.  Luckily, I was able to find some really ripe strawberries at the Middleton Farmer’s Market too so that I could make this strawberry cardamom crumb cake.  I purchased cardamom seeds already taken out of the pod, but I still needed to grind them for the recipe with my mortar and pestle.  The cake itself was really easy to make and turned out really well.   The aromatic quality of the cardamom paired nicely with the fresh, sweet flavor of the strawberries.  I’ll definitely be looking for more recipes that I can use cardamom in.

4 responses to “Strawberry Cardamom Crumb Cake

  1. Great pictures! The crumb cake sounds really good. I liked your blueberry crumb cake with cardamom. Thanks for sharing.

  2. blueberry? This is the same one I gave to you.

  3. Even after having been subjected to a freeze/thaw cycle, this cake was delicious. It was sort of like a cross between tea and black pepper. Thanks for saving me a piece!

Leave a Reply

