Rice with mint-lime pesto, asparagus, and cherry tomatoes

Matthew:  Some days, I just like to try something new and experiment in the kitchen without recipes.  I was pretty proud of myself for coming up with the idea to make pesto out of mint and lime juice.  There was a lot of mint for sale at the farmer’s market last week and I wanted to try using it in a savory dish.  For the pesto, I combined one bunch of mint, a healthy glug of olive oil, lime juice from one lime, 3/4 cup or so of almonds, one large clove of garlic, and 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese.  The resulting puree was refreshing and delicious.  Sort of like mojito meets normal pesto.  The pesto would have gone well with almost any grain or pasta, but I decided to choose brown rice.  I also added some roasted purple asparagus and really nice and sweet cherry tomatoes.  It turned out really flavorful and fresh-tasting.  It’s very rewarding when experiments lead to tasty dinners!

6 responses to “Rice with mint-lime pesto, asparagus, and cherry tomatoes

  1. You are a creative chef! Sounds like a refreshing and tasty meal.

  2. Wow! That sounds like a really creative creation that turned out really well. I’ve seen violet asparagus here, but it’s more white than green. Did yours turn green when cooking it like purple beans?

  3. looks great!

  4. I made this tonight and it was even better than I expected (which is saying a lot)! I loved the mint + lime + garlic combination. I put it over fettuccine with mushrooms and yellow peppers that I sauteed in balsamic, plus some fresh tomatoes. YUM- thanks!

  5. Pingback: Asparagus Pesto | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

