Rhubarb and Ginger Fool

Matthew:  Last week, I checked out the new Middleton farmer’s market that is held on Tuesdays just a few blocks from my apartment.  It’s still early for produce, but I did see a lot of rhubarb for sale.  I bought some and wanted to try a different sort of rhubarb dessert.   I made this recipe called Rhubarb and Ginger Fool from the NYTimes.  It was really easy to make and was rather good.  You make a rhubarb sauce with orange juice and ginger and then mix it with whipped cream and yogurt.  I brought some to work and I think my friends liked it too.  I did set aside one stalk for a vodka infusion.  You just leave the rhubarb in for 1/2 a day or so and it is done.  I haven’t tried mine yet, but I think it will need to be mixed with a sugar syrup to make it sweet enough.

5 responses to “Rhubarb and Ginger Fool

  1. Sounds like an interesting combination. I bet it was refreshing. Your rhubarb vodka sounds good too.

  2. Sounds like interesting ways of using rhubarb. You must be pretty popular at work! How did the vodka infusion turn out? What did you do with it?

  3. it does sound interesting

  4. Pingback: Rhubarb Streusel Muffins | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

