Strawberry, Pistachio, Goat Cheese and Shaved Asparagus Flatbread

Katie:  The farmers market in Paderborn seems to have a different “it” item each week.  While the stands were filled with white asparagus last week, strawberries seemed to outnumber them this week.  They smelled so sweet, that I just couldn’t resist buying some, even though I already had some at home.

I decided to try a savory dish using strawberries.  This recipe for Strawberry, Pistachio, and Goat Cheese Pizza from Cooking Light caught my eye.  I used my favorite pizza dough recipe.  Instead of watercress, I decided to go with another spring item, green asparagus.  I tried shredding it, like Matt did with his pizza.  After rolling out the dough, I brushed it with a little olive oil and added the shredded asparagus, which I had mixed with olive oil, sea salt, and ground black pepper.  I then baked the flatbreads for about 15 minutes at 475 degrees, removed them from the oven, and then added the remaining ingredients.  I tried putting a couple of the flatbreads back in the oven for a couple of minutes and served the other ones without baking the other ingredients.  Both variations worked well.

These were really good!  The combination of strawberries, goat cheese, and pistachios worked really well together, and the asparagus added an interesting twist.  I added asparagus sparingly, but next time I would probably add a little more.  I toasted the pistachios in a frying pan before chopping them, which enhanced their flavor.  This was a good spring meal!

4 responses to “Strawberry, Pistachio, Goat Cheese and Shaved Asparagus Flatbread

  1. Wow! You make some amazing flatbread. Looks great!

  2. Sounds really creative and delicious. I’ve never had strawberries on a flatbread before!

  3. This was really super delicious. I had never thought about strawberries and asparagus and pistachios on a pizza but it turned out amazing! And Kudos to Katie for finding a green food (pistachios) that I like.

  4. pistachios are reaaly good. looks like a great meal!

Leave a Reply

