Pesto Pasta with Shrimp and Roasted Asparagus

Bill:  I was inspired by Katie’s recent post to make a quick but tasty meal.  Last fall I froze a couple of batches of pesto that I made with almonds.  The pesto was frozen in ice cube trays which makes it easy to use later.  I pulled out 4 cubes of pesto to use along with 2 servings of pasta.  I added some raw shrimp into the boiling water the last two minutes that the pasta was cooking.  Jill taught me this trick which is the perfect length of time to cook the shrimp.  I also reserved a couple of ladles of pasta water which I added slowly to the pesto cubes to get a nice consistency before adding to the cooked pasta.

To go along with the meal I roasted some asparagus in the oven.  Katie, there are some Asparagus Festivals in the Midwest, but I’m not aware of any Asparagus Princesses.  You’ll have to take us to a German Asparagus celebration sometime.

4 responses to “Pesto Pasta with Shrimp and Roasted Asparagus

  1. I’m glad I could give you an idea. Yours looks a lot better than my meal, though!

  2. That’s a good idea to cook the shrimp with the pasta and also to thicken it with the water. Looks like a great dinner!

  3. Too green for my taste – but I´m sure it tasted really good!

  4. It was REALLY good!!!!

Leave a Reply

