Lemon Pistachio Pasta

Matthew:  I had some extra lemons to use up, so I was searching on the NYTimes website for recipes. This recipe, for pistachio lemon bars, looked interesting because I had never seen pistachios and lemons combined before.  I tried it and right away knew something was wrong when I pulled them out of the oven.  I somehow forgot to add the cup of sugar to the filling, turning it into a leathery scrambled egg filling.  The crust was great, but the filling disaster kind of ruined the dessert.

I wasn’t about to give up on the lemon-pistachio combination, so I next turned to pasta.  I made up a simple dish with spaghetti, wild ramps, lemon juice, pistachios, and parmesan.  Wild ramps have been in season for the past month or so and I’ve been using them quite a bit to add a more delicate garlic flavor to dishes.  This pasta dish was incredibly easy to make–I sauteed the ramps while the pasta was cooking and then just combined everything in a bowl.  It turned out great with all the simple flavors and was a very satisfying dinner.  The lemon to pasta ratio seems key.  I made this a few days later and the lemon overpowered the other flavors.

4 responses to “Lemon Pistachio Pasta

  1. That sounds like an interesting combination. It sounds like a good spring meal!

  2. I agree, it does sound like an interesting but tasty combination.

  3. That looks so tasty! Pistachios taste better right out of the shell, don’t you think???

Leave a Reply

