Pasta with Shrimp, Asparagus, and Pesto

Katie:  Asparagus is in season here in Germany, and Germans are crazy about asparagus.  Just check out pictures of the “Asparagus Princess” and “Asparagus Parade” if you don’t believe me!  While white asparagus remains the most popular choice, green asparagus seems to be becoming more readily available.

Rather than preparing asparagus as a side dish, I’ve tried a few recipes this spring that include asparagus in a main dish.  So far, I’ve tried Roasted Strawberry and Asparagus Quinoa Salad, which was a great combination and Roasted Asparagus and Red Pepper Farro Salad, in which I substituted buckwheat groats for farro.

This time, I decided to try a Cooking Light recipe, Gnocchi with Shrimp, Asparagus, and Pesto.  Since I wanted something a bit lighter than gnocchi, I decided to substitute whole wheat spiral noodles.  This was a dish that was pretty simple to make.  It turned out well and was a good choice for a simple, but interesting and flavorful meal.  The only change I would make if I made this again would be to use less garlic powder, since it was a little strong.  This would probably be good with other pesto recipes as well, maybe even Strawberry Basil Pesto, which I’m curious to try!

4 responses to “Pasta with Shrimp, Asparagus, and Pesto

  1. I never used to like asparagus, but now it’s one of my favorite vegetables. Your pasta looks really good. Will Flori eat the green asparagus? Or does he prefer the white?

  2. This dish was really good – even though (shocking as it might seem to some people) I really don´t like green food. I tried it nevertheless to avoid a beating from Katie – and was rewarded with a tasty meal! Kudos to the chef, once again!

  3. Sounds good!

  4. Looks like a good spring dish! Strawberry basil pesto? That sounds adventurous! I can’t even imagine how that would taste.

Leave a Reply

