Smoky Margaritas

Katie:  I wanted to make a special treat to celebrate the long Easter weekend, but was looking for something unconventional.  This recipe for Smoky Margaritas was definitely what I was looking for!   I found it on the McCormick website, which actually has several interesting looking recipes, and is where I also found the recipe for my Sweet Potato Winter Vegetable Pot Pie.  Since we’ve had warm weather here in Germany lately, these were the perfect was to end a summerly spring evening.  If you’re feeling adventurous, here’s how to make them:

Smoky Margaritas (from the McCormick website)

2 servings

  • 3 tablespoons sea salt*
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika, divided*
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice (I used 5 small limes)
  • 6 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 2 ounces tequila (1/4 cup)
  • ice
  1. Mix sea salt and 1 tablespoon of the smoked paprika on a small plate.  Dip glasses in prepared lime juice to wet the outside rims.  Dip glasses into the sea salt mixture to coat.
  2. Fill cocktail shaker with 2 cups of ice.  (I don’t have a cocktail shaker, so I used a metal thermos bottle.)  Add lime juice, agave nectar, tequila and remaining 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika; shake until well mixed and chilled.  Pour into prepared glasses.
* Unless you’ve just run a marathon, I can’t imagine consuming so much salt.  Even though it made the glasses look pretty, we ended up whiping it off after the first sip.  I would suggest using just a little bit of sea salt or trying large sugar crystals.
Apart from the salt issue, we really enjoyed these cocktails!
4 responses to “Smoky Margaritas

  1. Do you deliver? That looks really good. I could use one right now after exercising at Sentry and working in the yard all morning. 🙂

  2. Yes, it does look good. I was thinking about trying different cocktails this spring, so I’ll have to try using smoked paprika.

  3. The cocktails were really delicious – you couldn´t taste the Tequila at all! Perfect for a hot day in German spring!

  4. It’s 38 degrees here this morning! We have not had any hot days in US spring but those drinks do look tasty!

Leave a Reply

