Chickpea Salad with Mango Dressing

Katie:  When I saw mangoes featured at the store this week, I grabbed one, but wasn’t sure what I’d do with it.  When I came across this recipe for Garbanzo Bean Salad with Mexican Mango Dressing, I was really intrigued.  I would have never have thought of blended a mango, mixing it with spices, and using it as a creamy dressing to top a salad.  I had to improvise a little, using what I had, but it turned out great!  This might be the perfect way to bring a little bit of sunshine into your kitchen, even if the weather outside isn’t very spring-like yet.  Here’s my version of the salad:

Chickpea Salad with Mango Dressing (slightly adapted from My New Roots)

Salad:

  • 1 – 2 Tbsp. raw sunflower seeds
  • 3 cups cooked chickpeas (about 2 cans), drained and rinsed
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3 carrots
  • other vegetables of your choice (e.g. jicama, bean sprouts, other beans)
  • optional: salad greens

Dressing:

  • 1 ripe mango
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 large green onions, with tops, roughly chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cayenne pepper
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add the sunflower seeds and roast for a few minutes, stirring occasionally, until they begin to brown.  Set aside.
  2. Peel the mango, cut into large chunks, and place in a blender or food processor with all other dressing ingredients. Blend until uniform and creamy. Season with freshly ground black pepper or other spices to taste.
  3. In a large bowl, pour the dressing over the chickpeas and let sit while you prepare the rest of the salad filling.
  4. Chop the remaining vegetables and add to the salad.
  5. Serve plain or over salad greens.
  6. Top with sunflower seeds before serving.
  7. Enjoy!
6 responses to “Chickpea Salad with Mango Dressing

  1. This looks like the kind of salad that we might get from Cafe 27 in Stevens Point. It looks really yummy. It would brighten up a snowy spring day in Plover!

  2. Even though I always thought the only salad I could enjoy would consist of marshmallows, steak, peanut butter and little pieces of hamburger, Katie really did the trick: This salad was really delicious and I acutally ate a LOT. Also note that there is nothing green in it 🙂

  3. Yeah, I bet that was good with the mango. I’ll have to keep that in mind as I start eating more salads this spring.

  4. I enjoyed this salad so much, that I made it again a week later. This time, I added fresh bean sprouts, which I would definitely recommend!

  5. Your salads are so colorful and interesting!

  6. Pingback: Fresh Spring Rolls | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

