Turkey and Vegetable Burgers

Katie:  Along with blooming flowers and budding trees, another sign of spring here in Germany is the scent of grilled meat drifting through the streets.  As soon as the temperatures begin to rise, many people are eager to fire up their grills, and Flori was no exception.  Since our grocery store now carries ground turkey, I decided to try making turkey burgers.  Since I liked the flavors of the meatballs I made, I decided to try to find a burger recipe that also included some good add-ins.  I found this recipe for Turkey and Vegetable Burgers from the Recipes for Health column of the New York Times.  It was just what I was looking for!  I made it as written, which included sautéing onions, bell peppers, grated carrots, and garlic and mixing the vegetable mixture with ground turkey and a little ketchup and barbecue sauce.  It was a good combination!  Even though I didn’t prepare them enough in advance to chill the patties, they still held together on the grill.  I roasted the remaining half of the bell pepper to top some of the burgers.  It was a good start to this year’s grilling season!

4 responses to “Turkey and Vegetable Burgers

  1. Those sound really good! I’m looking forward to grilled food too, but I’ll have to get one of my friends to make it for me.

  2. You’re lucky to have blooming flowers and trees budding out. Our snow from this weekend just finished melting today. Your burgers look really good. I could go for one right now.

  3. The Turkey burgers were really good and it was fun using the grill for the first time in 2011. Thank god we don´t have any snow 😉

  4. Those look great! Maybe you can make them for us when you visit?

Leave a Reply

