Bean and Sausage Stew

Matthew:  I might have picked the worst spring day to make a stew.  It was in the low 80’s and humid today and I spent the late afternoon boiling beans on the stove.  It was worth it though!

Back in October, I read an article in the NY Times that talked about using dried beans without soaking them.  This appealed to me since I don’t like to have to plan ahead for dinner.  The article included this recipe for herbed white bean and sausage stew.  I finally got around to making it and it turned out fantastic.  I followed the recipe closely, only substituting some locally-made bratwurst for the sausage.  The resulting stew reminded me of a cassoulet I had recently at Sardine in Madison.  The slow cooked beans absorb the flavors from the herbs, seasonings, and meat, making a smooth and decadent dish.  And, it made about 10 pounds of stew, so I will get to enjoy this all week!

4 responses to “Bean and Sausage Stew

  1. The stew looks really good. A hearty meal that I’d like especially with the brats for sausage.

  2. I agree! It looks good, n’est pas?

  3. Will it be weird to have stew for snack time?

Leave a Reply

