Baked Gigantes in Tomato Sauce

Katie:  While I was home sick last week and didn’t have enough energy to move from the couch, I wasn’t feeling too great, but I was at least able to catch up on looking for some new recipes to try.  One that caught my eye was this recipe for Greek Baked Beans from Closet Cooking.  It looked really good, and I had never tried cooking with dried beans before, so I added it to my list of recipe ideas.

Once I was feeling better again, I decided to give Greek baked beans a try, using this recipe for Baked Gigantes in Tomato Sauce from Cooking Light.  First, I soaked the beans overnight, and then cooked them the next day in water.  I then prepared the tomato sauce, which was really flavorful and included carrots, onions, celery, a few different herbs, and honey.  It smelled really good!  Then, I mixed the beans and sauce together and baked them in the oven.   I had read a few comments warning not to overcook beans or they would fall apart, so I tried not to cook them too long. Unfortunately, I think I overreacted, since the beans could have been softer.  The sauce was very delicious, so I would still recommend this recipe, but with the tip of making sure that the beans are soft enough before combining them with the sauce.  I served the beans with Italian bread.

To go along with the beans and bread, I decided to make chicken. I remembered hearing Mom talking about a good recipe for stuffed chicken, and I think it may have been the same one that I decided to make.  This recipe for Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sun-Dried Tomatoes from Cooking Light was surprisingly simple to prepare and definitely lived up to the rave reviews.  Even though it wasn’t perfect, this was still a very tasty meal!

5 responses to “Baked Gigantes in Tomato Sauce

  1. The only good thing about Katie being sick last week was that I will probably never have to cook again in my life- after she made a list of like a million meals she wants to try ;). And if all these meals are as yummy as this one, I´ll be a very happy husband. The chicken in particular was gourmet. Well done, Katie!

  2. This looks really good Katie. Where did you find the gigantes beans?

  3. That looks like something your dad could make! Hint! Hint! Looks delicious!!

  4. This looks like a really great meal!

Leave a Reply

