Chicken Enchiladas in Mole Sauce

Katie: When I first heard about mole, I was curious.  Chocolate for dinner??  I knew I had to give it a try!  I made a mole sauce using this recipe from Closet Cooking.  It’s a fairly traditional recipe, using dried chiles, nuts, dried fruit, a banana, spices, and tomatoes.  I’m not sure if the chiles I bought at the farmer’s market were the extra-spicy variety, but I’m really glad I added a bit at a time, since I ended up using much less than called for.  Next time, I would probably use chili paste from a jar to save some time.  I substituted 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder for the chocolate and increased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon.  The chile and cocoa flavors were pretty strong, so I increased the amount of tomatoes (I used a total of three 14 oz. cans of drained diced tomatoes) before simmering the sauce.  I then followed the instructions for Chicken Enchiladas in Mole Sauce, using 8 tortillas and 1 1/2 pound of shredded chicken.  They turned out really well!  I still had some sauce left over, so I decided to freeze it to use later.

I served the enchiladas with homemade refried beans and a salad.  For the salad, I roasted about 2 cups of corn with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and salt and pepper for 20 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  I then mixed the corn with chopped grape tomatoes, 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar, and chopped fresh basil.  It was also really delicious!

5 responses to “Chicken Enchiladas in Mole Sauce

  1. This sounds like a really interesting meal. I’d like to try some right now!

  2. It looks good! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of putting bananas or dried fruit in a mole! That’s so interesting! Your meals are never boring!

    • Quite a few recipes I saw included golden raisins and plantains. One of the reasons I choose this recipe was because I thought the ingredients sounded so interesting and I already had many of them at home. The combination of ingredients actually worked really well and was the perfect mixture of sweetness and spiciness!

  3. This meal was really delicious. I was surprised when Katie told me about all the ingredients that went into the sauce. I could only really taste chocolate and the chilies. It was really delicious and seriously – what could be better than chocolate-tasting-chicken???

  4. Ooh, I really like mole! I’ve had it a few times out to eat but have never tried making it at home.

Leave a Reply

