Seared Scallops with Cauliflower Puree

jillpickle:  I was in an adventurous mood to cook and saw this recipe in the March issue of Cooking Light.  Even though scallops are expensive, you don’t need many to make a meal. (I used 1 pound instead of 1 1/2 pounds.)  I thoroughly drained the scallops on paper towel and seared them over high heat-3 minutes on each side-perfect!  The cauliflower puree intrigued me.  It seemed so unique!  I did wonder though with little seasoning if it would turn out too bland so I threw some foil wrapped garlic heads in the oven, ahead of time, for 45 minutes at 350 degrees to roast.  I used half of 1 roasted garlic in the mashed cauliflower-potato mixture and I added more salt.  I drained the potato-cauliflower mixture once it was cooked and reserved the liquid.  I used the electric hand blender and slowly added some liquid back in as needed.  It turned out very well!!  I also made pea-pod, carrots and mushrooms to go with this meal, however, it was too much to keep track of and the veggies got a bit overcooked.  Next time, I would just add something simple like a salad.  Fresh raspberries and oranges and Pinot Grigio completed the meal.

5 responses to “Seared Scallops with Cauliflower Puree

  1. What a fancy meal! Everything tasted great! It got me in a perfect mood for going to the Central Wisconsin Symphony which was a lot of fun. They did “A night at the Movies” as a lead in to the Oscars.

  2. The meal looks really good – even though I am not a big fan of cauliflower and beans (as you know). But the scallops sound really good. Maybe you could also serve that with steak and burgers on the side instead of the yucky vegetables!

  3. Wow! Everything looks really great! I’m impressed that you made such a gourmet meal, and your addition of garlic sounds like a good idea. I wish I could have tried this!

  4. Yes, roasted garlic is such a great flavor and fat free. It helps to let it cool a bit so you don’t burn your fingers when squeezing garlic out of its skin. Don’t ask me how I know that!

  5. Looks like something fancy you could get at a nice restaurant here in Madison! I really do love scallops a lot and the puree sounds good too.

Leave a Reply

