Smoked Salmons Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper and Ricotta

Katie:  I was looking for something different to try along with a baguette to accompany the delicious Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup that Flori made.  Ever since I had smoked salmon in Denmark, I’ve been wanted to make something with it, so when I spotted this recipe for Salmon Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper and Ricotta, I knew I had to try them.  I roasted the peppers first, and used this recipe for the ricotta and chive filling.  Instead of using ricotta cheese, I used cottage cheese and pureed it with a hand blender before mixing in the fresh chives, lemon rind and juice, salt, and pepper.  Once the peppers were cool and peeled, I layered a piece of salmon, a piece of roasted pepper, and a bit of the ricotta mixture, and then rolled them up.  They were really good!  This would make a good appetizer that could be prepared ahead of time.  The ingredients would probably also work well layered on baguette slices.

5 responses to “Smoked Salmons Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper and Ricotta

  1. At first I thought I was eating raw chicken because it kind of looked like that. I thought the idea of giving me raw chicken to eat was a little out there – but I trusted my Katie. Turned out – it really was salmon and it was delicious. Way to go, Katie!

  2. It does look like raw chicken but I have tasted the smoked salmon there and it is so good! This looks like a fancy gourmet dish and I’ll bet it was fantastic. Do you deliver???

  3. This sounds really good! Even though I’m not a huge fish fan, I’d like to try it.

  4. I’ll have to come to Germany to try some. I know I’d like this.

  5. Pingback: Smoked Salmon Pizza | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

