Maple-Glazed Salmon with Millet Pilaf

Katie:  One area of cooking that I haven’t had much experience with is fish.  I decided to change that and began with this recipe from Cooking Light for Maple-Glazed Salmon.  To make it more flavorful, I decided to use smoked paprika.  First, I rubbed a mixture of smoked paprika, chile powder, cumin, and brown sugar over the salmon.  I cooked the fish on both sides in a grill pan, and drizzled it with maple syrup towards the end.  It turned out really good!  I couldn’t taste the maple syrup much, so next time I might drizzle it over the fish at the very end.

I decided to try this recipe for Rice Pilaf with Apricots, Chickpeas, and Almonds as a side, taking  Mark Bittmann’s suggestion of substituting millet for brown rice.  I had picked up a bag of millet in the health food section awhile ago, but hadn’t tried it yet.  It’s similar to couscous and could probably be substituted for many grains.  Millet is a good source of some important nutrients and “isn’t just for the birds”!  The pilaf turned out well and would probably adapt well to other grains, spices, or vegetables.  I also served Japanese sweet potatoes roasted with a mixture of sweet paprika, cinnamon, and cumin as a side.  Overall, this was a good meal and a good start to my adventures with fish!

7 responses to “Maple-Glazed Salmon with Millet Pilaf

  1. Wow! I think you should open your own restaurant!! What a creative meal!! Everything looks so good! Does the millet soften when cooked?

    • Yes, the millet gets soft and has a similar texture to couscous when cooked. The flavor is a little different though, nuttier. I liked it!

  2. Salmon is one of my favorites. This looks like a good recipe and entire meal!

  3. This meal was delicious as usual. The salmon was very flavorful and the millet was – contrary to my expectation – spectacularly yummy. For today I asked Katie to make me an actual Cheesehead – so I can eat it in celebration of the Packers´ victory in the Superbowl tonight. Let´s see if she actually complies 😉

  4. That salmon looks really good! I’ve used millet before in bread, but never cooked it by itself. Did the Japanese sweet potatoes taste any different? I don’t think I’ve ever seen those in the store.

    • I actually bought the sweet potatoes thinking they were regular sweet potatoes, and was surprised to discover that they were white instead of orange inside. They aren’t quite as sweet as regular sweet potatoes, maybe somewhere between regular and sweet potatoes.

  5. Pingback: Sunflower Millet Bread | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

