Vegetable Lentil Stew

Matthew:  I wanted to make something healthy for dinner, so I went to the Willy Street Coop and just started getting good things that I thought might go together.  My grocery list included 3 beets, 2 parsnips, an onion, a can of roasted tomato sauce, and French green lentils.  At home I also had some vegetable stock, some red wine, and some herbs and seasonings (fennel, basil, oregano, salt, pepper).  The result was strikingly scarlet and really delicious!  I simmered the ingredients for about an hour, so the beets could cook and everything could meld together.  This is the first time I’ve used French green lentils and they turned out to be really good.  They are a bit more refined than those other lentils.  I liked this dish so much that I ate it for lunch and dinner yesterday.  I will definitely be making something like this again.

3 responses to “Vegetable Lentil Stew

  1. Looks healthy but tasty!

  2. Sounds pretty adventurous! I would never have thought of combining those ingredients. I’m glad it turned out well!

  3. I can’t believe you just make up these recipes. Looks healthy!

Leave a Reply

