Roasted Winter Vegetable Pot Pie

Katie:  After our raclette dinner on New Year’s Eve, I had some leftover vegetables to use up.  I remembered how good the shepherd’s pie was that I made a few weeks ago, but unfortunately I didn’t have any more sweet potatoes.  I didn’t let that stop me, and decided to improvise a little.  I still had 3 hokaido pumpkins I had been saving.  I roasted one of them, producing enough puree to make some delicious and filling Pumpkin Oatmeal in the morning, pumpkin biscuits to top the pot pie, and Pumpkin Carrot Muffins the next day.  Lots of pumpkin deliciousness to enjoy!  I based the recipe for the pumpkin biscuits on a couple of different recipes from Cooking Light.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but it turned out really good!  I would definitely make this comforting winter meal again.  Even without pumpkin, regular drop biscuits would probably also work well.  Here’s the recipe I used for the biscuits:

Pumpkin Drop Biscuits

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ – ¾ tsp. cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. melted butter
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree
  • ½ – 1 Cup milk (I mixed a little at a time, until the batter was wet and thick, not runny, about ¾ cup)
  1. Mix dry ingredients with a whisk in a large bowl.
  2. Add wet ingredients until just mixed.
  3. Drop the batter into about 10-12 mounds on the pot pie vegetable base.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees F (200 C) for about 30 minutes, or until biscuits are light brown.
  5. Enjoy!

4 responses to “Roasted Winter Vegetable Pot Pie

  1. Hmmm, 3 pumpkins left???? Try 30! But seriously – the pot pie was yet another delicious meal Katie cooked for me. Good thing that she at least cooks very healthy stuff – otherwise we would have had to grease our door frames already for fatty Flori to be able to squeeze through….

  2. This sounds really tasty! Are you really out of pumpkins or hiding more like Flori suggests?

  3. Boy, that makes me hungry!!! Looks yummy!

  4. I would have never thought of putting pumpkin biscuits on top of vegetables, but it looks really good!

Leave a Reply

