Cheese Fondue

Matthew:  I was having a party with some work friends and I decided that I should try making cheese fondue since I hadn’t ever made it before.  The photo above shows the cheese that was used along with the other food and beverages for the evening.  I only ended up using the Emmenteler and Gruyère, since that was enough, and saved the Jarlsberg for later.

 

 

 

 

I used the simplest fondue recipe which called for:

1/2 garlic clove

1 pound Gruyère

8 ounces Emmentaler

1 1/2 cups dry white wine (I used an Italian chardonnay)

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

4 teaspoons cornstarch

1 1/2 tablespoons kirsch (I didn’t add this)

pepper

nutmeg

You just rub the garlic clove in the saucepan (and to the fondue pot), then add all the ingredients to the saucepan and stir in a figure 8 motion over medium heat.  Then I just transferred it to the fondue pot and it was ready.  To dip in the fondue, we used chunks of bread, summer sausage, pretzel crackers, tiny pickles, and broccoli.  I thought it was really good and I think my friends did too.  It was definitely worth splurging on the fancy cheese.  Later in the evening, we enjoyed the salted caramel cocoa with some Baileys and the Toblerone chocolates while playing a couple intense rounds of Skip-Bo!

5 responses to “Cheese Fondue

  1. I’m shocked you didn’t post that amazing picture of you eating the fondue!

  2. Your cheese fondue sounds really good. You’ll have to make it for us some time.

  3. I absolutely LOVEEE cheese fondue. This is my favorite. Great post

  4. I bet your friends will want to come visit you again soon after serving that!

Leave a Reply

