Tempeh Stir Fry with Soba Noodles

Matthew:  Now that the Willy Street Coop has a second location just a 10 minutes walk from my apartment, I’ve been stopping by a couple times a week to get amazing produce and specialty items that you can’t find at the other grocery stores.  Tempeh is one of those items.  I’ve made it a few times now and finally got this recipe down.  Tempeh is basically a fermented soybean cake that still has the texture of the soybeans (which is why I prefer it over tofu).  It doesn’t have a ton of flavor, so I crumble it up and marinate it for ~30 minutes in a good amount of soy sauce, a splash of rice wine vinegar, a small glug of toasted sesame oil, and some minced garlic.  In the meantime, I used my mandolin to slice some carrots and cabbage, which went in the hot pan first and were later joined by the tempeh, green onions, and cilantro.  To make the dish go a little further, I served it with soba noodles.  This is a really quick weeknight meal to make.  The actual chopping and cooking takes less than a half hour.  I will definitely keep making this throughout the winter.

3 responses to “Tempeh Stir Fry with Soba Noodles

  1. Looks like a great recipe! I will have to look for tempeh!

  2. The tempeh looks really strange, but the stir fry sounds really tasty!

  3. I’ve heard of tempeh, but have never tried it. It sounds like a good meal!

Leave a Reply

