Sweet Potato Winter Vegetable Shepherd’s Pie

Katie:  Now that pumpkin season is sadly coming to an end, I’ve moved on to another source of Vitamin A:  sweet potatoes.  We bought a bunch of sweet potatoes when we saw them on sale at the grocery store, and I’ve been looking for different ways of using them.  I don’t think I’ve ever had shepherd’s pie before, but this recipe for Winter Vegetable Pot Pie sounded interesting.  It’s basically a pot pie base made with roasted vegetables and topped with mashed sweet potatoes.  I wasn’t quite sure how the apple juice would work with the other flavors, but it turned out really good!  The base would probably also be good topped with a more typical pot pie biscuit topping.  Here’s how I made it:

Sweet Potato Winter Vegetable Shepherd’s Pie (adapted from the McCormick website)

  • 1 pound sweet potatoes (I used 3)
  • 1 cup apple juice, divided
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 6-7 cups cubed winter vegetables (I used orange carrots, yellow carrots, parsnips, red potatoes, and celery), cut into 3/4 inch pieces
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 1/2 pound brown mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 tsp. ground mustard
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Pierce sweet potatoes with a fork and bake on a cooking sheet lined with parchment paper for an hour or until they are tender when pierced with a fork and are caramelizing.  Remove from oven and cool.  Increase oven temperature to 425 degrees F.
  2. Toss chopped vegetables (excluding mushrooms and onions) with 1 Tbsp. olive oil in a large bowl.  Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Sprinkle with black pepper.  Roast for 25 minutes or until vegetables begin to brown.
  3. Peel sweet potatoes and mash with 1/4 cup apple juice, butter, and nutmeg until smooth.  Set aside and keep warm.
  4. Heat 1 tsp. olive oil over medium heat and saute the chopped onions and sliced mushrooms in a skillet until soft.  Set aside.
  5. Mix vegetable broth, remaining 3/4 cup apple juice, cornstarch, garlic salt, mustard, thyme and in large skillet with wire whisk until well blended. Bring to boil on medium heat. Reduce heat to low; simmer 2 minutes. Add roasted vegetables, onions, and mushrooms; stir gently. Pour into a glass casserole dish. Top with mashed sweet potatoes.
  6. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until sweet potato topping starts to brown.
  7. Enjoy!

6 responses to “Sweet Potato Winter Vegetable Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Wow! You sure are an adventurous chef! Way to go Katie!

  2. My mom used to make shepherd’s pie from leftovers! I think its origin is Irish. Looks great! You really need to write your own cookbook!!!

  3. Okay. At first when I saw mushrooms and the celery pieces I was like “Are you kidding me?????” but after putting the first fork full of Katie´s dish in my mouth I felt like in heaven (also because the chef looks like an angel). I would have never imagined that a dish could be that good – even though the superb quality of Katie´s former dishes should have given me a heads-up. I am really impressed and relishing the opportunity to eat as much of the shepherd´s pie as I possibly can!

  4. That looks like a very hearty vegetable dish! I like sweet potatoes a lot too.

  5. Pingback: Roasted Winter Vegetable Pot Pie | Fresh Eating

  6. Pingback: Smoky Margaritas | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

