Pommes Anna

Matthew:  Lately, I’ve been watching Two Fat Ladies, a British cooking show from the 90’s, and I was inspired to make something a bit old-fashioned and fancy, similar to the dishes they make on the show. I decided on Pommes Anna from the Joy of Cooking.  The recipe has you pour a substantial amount of clarified butter into a cast iron skillet over low heat on the stove.  You then layer in potatoes, overlapping the edges.  I decided to spice up the recipe a bit with parmesan cheese and paprika between some of the layers.  Once the potatoes are all in, it’s transferred to the oven and baked.  Then, you drain off the excess butter and flip it over to reveal the crispy brown underside.  Mine fell apart a bit when flipping since I used small potatoes that didn’t overlap too well.  I’m sure if you used large baking potatoes, it would hold together.  It was very tasty and I’m sure would be nice alongside some fish or other main course dish.

2 responses to “Pommes Anna

  1. It does look like it would be hard to flip, but it stills looks like it turn out well! Just after seeing your post, I saw this recipe http://www.tokyoterrace.com/2010/12/mini-pommes-japanna-mini-pommes-anna-japan-style/ on Food Gawker for a mini version of Pommes Anna that are prepared in the oven.

  2. I like the TV show! This recipe looks really good. I’ll have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

