Turkey Meatballs and Spicy Tomato Sauce with Spaghetti Squash

Katie:  After my success with Spaghetti Squash Gratin, I bought another spaghetti squash at the farmers market, but had been waiting to use it.  I decided to finally make something with it this weekend and wanted to find a hearty recipe that Flori would like.  I first saw the combination of meatballs and spaghetti squash on Martha Stewart’s website, but I decided to try this recipe for Turkey Meatballs with Quick and Spicy Tomato Sauce from Ellie Krieger.  I made a few adjustments with the meatballs, including adding more bread crumbs, an extra egg white, and some grated sweet potatoes along with the grated carrots.  I also made them smaller than the recipe called for (around 25 meatballs) and baked them for 15 minutes at 400 degrees F.  Since I didn’t have chipolte peppers, I used a teaspoon of harissa paste to make the sauce spicy.

I prepared the spaghetti squash by poking holes in it with a fork and baking it for 1 hour at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C), cutting it in half, removing the seeds, and then scraping out the squash with a fork.

The spaghetti squash was not quite as flavorful as I had anticipated (maybe because I had waited too long to use it??), but the sauce and meatballs turned out really well.  I can’t even remember the last time I ate meatballs, and they aren’t something I would typically think of cooking, but I’m glad I can add them to my cooking repertoire!

5 responses to “Turkey Meatballs and Spicy Tomato Sauce with Spaghetti Squash

  1. Those look really good! I want to try this!!!

  2. The meal was really good, although I am a little scared of what will happen once Katie´s pumpkin stash is gone. Pure madness, I assume. Anyway: The meatballs were really flavorful and the pumpkin was yummy as well. Once again – compliments to the chef!

  3. The meatballs sound really good! How many pumpkins or squash do you have left yet?

  4. Pingback: Turkey and Vegetable Burgers | Fresh Eating

Leave a Reply

