Thanksgiving Dinner for Two

Katie:  Just because we don’t have the last Thursday and Friday in November off here in Germany doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate Thanksgiving a little.  Although it was sad not being able to celebrate with my family, I tried a few different new recipes to bring the feeling of Thanksgiving to our home.  Here’s what I made:

  1. turkey cutlets seasoned with salt, pepper, and dried thyme (definitely not comparable to real roasted turkey, but I’m not sure if German ovens are even big enough to fit a turkey)
  2. Cranberry Sauce (cooking it with a cinnamon stick added a nice flavor)
  3. Mashed Honey-Roasted Sweet Potatoes (they were really thick, so I added some water and apple cider which worked well)
  4. Roasted Applesauce (I’ve never made applesauce in the oven before, but it was really good)
  5. Stuffin’ Cups (stuffing made in a muffin pan)

The only thing missing was a pumpkin pie… I might just have a pumpkin hidden somewhere to still make one.  🙂  I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

8 responses to “Thanksgiving Dinner for Two

  1. Hmmm, maybe, just MAYBE Katie will be able to find a hidden pumpkin somewhere in our apartment… 😉 The meal was really delicious and I really appreciate the hard work Katie put in to prepare the meal. I am very thankful for such a talented and special wife!

  2. P.S.: Katie is also an awesome Bananagrams-player who can only be beaten by cheating. Shame on me 😦

  3. I just have to know one thing: where did you find cranberries in Germany? I’ve been looking for a while here in Magdeburg, and I just have not seen them anywhere!

    • You won’t be able to find cranberries at discount grocery stores, but they’re often available at nicer supermarkets in the produce section. I’ve also seen them along with other imported fruits and vegetables at farmers markets. The availability might also depend on the area of Germany. Good luck!

  4. Looks like a good Thanksgiving meal! I’d like to try making those sweet potatoes.

  5. Good job on your Thanksgiving meal! Way to go Katie!

  6. I really liked your idea of the stuffing in muffin cups. That gives you more of the crispy top. That’s my favorite part of the meal! Your whole meal looked great! Way to keep a tradition alive! I hope you get your pie!

Leave a Reply

