Roasted Butternut Squash, Chicken, and Pomegranate Salad

Katie:  When I saw that pomegranates were in season again, I was excited to try using them.  I also managed to snatch up one of the last butternut squashes of the season at the farmers market.  I thought that this recipe for Roasted Butternut Squash and Pomegranate Salad looked good.  Since I know that Flori doesn’t eat lettuce and isn’t crazy about pomegranate seeds, I knew I would have to make some changes.  I added bulgur, chicken, and chickpeas, and served everything in a do-it-yourself salad bar. 

I served lamb’s lettuce and bulgur as the base, roasted butternut squash (with an interesting combination of cinnamon, paprika, and cumin as the seasonings), chickpeas, chicken (using the same spices as the squash), feta cheese, pomegranate arils, toasted chopped walnuts, and pomegranate vinaigrette made with homemade pomegranate molasses.

Here is Flori’s version…

and mine:

It was a good meal!

3 responses to “Roasted Butternut Squash, Chicken, and Pomegranate Salad

  1. Another great example of Katie´s creativity. But just to set the record straight: What she so playfully describes as “being able to snatch the last pumpkin” means that I had to carry 10 pounds of pumpkin for close to three miles – and she is buying at least two pumpkins there EVERY week. Guess I should be thankful for my upper-body workout 😉

  2. Great job Katie! Did you have to fight anyone for the last squash that you snatched up? It’s really nice that Flori comes along to help carry your pumpkins/squash home. So what do pomegranate seeds taste like?

  3. Wow, looks good! Another combination that I would never have thought of. I am also collecting squash that I can use for the rest of the winter!

Leave a Reply

