Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Matthew:  This weekend, I was inspired by my neighborhood bakery, Bloom Bake Shop, which specializes in cupcakes and whoopie pies made with seasonal, local ingredients.  I had an amazing spiced apple whoopie pie with cream cheese filling last week and noticed that they had also added pumpkin as a fall flavor.  I thought I could try to replicate this at home using a CSA pumpkin I got this week.  I cut the pumpkin in half, seeded it (the seeds are now toasted with smoked paprika!), and roasted it in the oven.  Since I don’t have a food processor, I had to be a little creative with my pureeing method.  I used this recipe for pumpkin cupcakes from Smitten Kitchen.  Instead of adding the ingredients in the order listed, I pureed the pumpkin with the eggs and buttermilk in the blender and then added that mixture alternating with the flour mixture to the butter and sugar.  Then, following a recipe that my coworker, Beth, gave to me for whoopie pies, I used a ziplock bag to pipe the batter onto parchment paper on a cookie sheet and baked for ~10 minutes at 350.  For the filling, I used the cream cheese and maple syrup frosting recipe that went along with the cupcakes.   The cakes were a bit sticky which made filling them a bit tricky, but the end result was good and REALLY delicious!

5 responses to “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  1. I’d like to try one right now! They look really good.

  2. I was actually thinking about making pumpkin whoopie pies for the party. Yours look really good!

  3. Have you tried other things from the bakery? The pictures look really yummy!

  4. They really look good! Can I try one???

  5. I have been wanting to get a nice whoopie pie pan. Do you like yours? Where did you find it? They look delicious!

Leave a Reply

