Pappardelle with Tomato Pesto

Matthew:  I’ve been eating a LOT of tomatoes lately and have tried to change things up so that I don’t get tired of them.  So far I’ve roasted them, made caprese salad, eaten them with homemade pesto, and put them in salads.  I was inspired to try tomato pesto by seeing this recipe from Smitten Kitchen.  I decided that I wanted the tomatoes to be cooked in my pesto, and to avoid them being too watery, I decided to sun dry them.   I halved, seeded, sliced, and salted about 8 roma tomatoes and put them in the oven for ~2 hours at 200 degrees.  They weren’t completely dehydrated by the time I pulled them out, but I thought it would be good enough.  I then toasted some almonds and combined them in the blender with the tomatoes, a good amount of olive oil, and some parmesan cheese.  The resulting pesto was a nice salmon color.  Then, to complete my meal, I tossed some cooked pappardelle with the pesto and some roasted green beans, red bell pepper, and onion.  The final product was outstanding.  The sun dried tomatoes added an intense and complex flavor which paired well with the nuttiness of the almonds, the salty parmesan, and the smooth olive oil.  Definitely a do-over!

2 responses to “Pappardelle with Tomato Pesto

  1. Wow! Looks really good. What a gourmet meal.

  2. Yummo!!!

Leave a Reply

