Pizza with Fresh Figs, Caramelized Onions, Mushrooms, and Goat Cheese

Katie:  I spotted some more fresh figs this weekend, and decided to try making a fig pizza this time.  Although I found a few recipes on other food blogs, I couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for.  I ended up improvising, mostly using parts of this recipe and this one.  Here’s how I did it:

  1. Prepare pizza dough (I used this recipe, with half whole wheat flour).
  2. Bake crusts for 5 minutes at 475 degrees.
  3. Brush crusts lightly with olive oil.
  4. Add toppings:  caramelized onions, sliced fresh figs, sliced brown mushrooms sauteed with garlic, and crumbled goat cheese.
  5. Lightly drizzle a little bit of balsamic vinegar and honey over pizzas.
  6. Sprinkle with chopped fresh rosemary and basil, freshly ground black pepper, and sea salt.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes or until crust is done and cheese starts to melt.
  8. Enjoy!
4 responses to “Pizza with Fresh Figs, Caramelized Onions, Mushrooms, and Goat Cheese

  1. That looks really good! I’ll have to see if they have fresh figs anywhere around here.

  2. It was one of the best pizzas I´ve ever had. I especially liked the figs (unusual on a pizza) and the caramelized onions. Once again: GOOD JOB, Katie!

  3. Wow, Katie!! You should be a professional chef!! You make such colorful and yummy food!

  4. Looks really good. I’d like to try this pizza!

Leave a Reply

