strawberry-ricotta tartlets

Matthew:  It’s strawberry season here in southern Wisconsin, so I went to a nearby farm after work last week and picked a bunch of ripe berries.  I knew I had to use some of them to make a dessert, but I wasn’t sure exactly what to make until I saw this post over at Smitten Kitchen.  It’s a play on strawberry shortcake, substituting a tart crust for the biscuit and sweetened ricotta for the whipped cream.  It’s a nice recipe, because you can make all three parts ahead of time and then just construct the dessert when you are ready to eat.  The crust is supposed to have graham flour in it, but since I couldn’t find any, I just used a bit of whole wheat flour.  Also, I did have a hard time rolling out the crust, so instead of cutting out circles from a rolled out crust, I formed it into one giant egg shape and then after baking it, cut it up into portions.  I thought the final result was really tasty and I think my friends at work agreed.  I may have to go get some more strawberries before the season is done to make it again!

4 responses to “strawberry-ricotta tartlets

  1. That looks REALLY good!! I’d eat that!!

  2. Yum! Those look really good. Nice pictures too!

  3. Looks good. I’d like to try one.

  4. Matt – thanks for sharing the link! Sadly, I missed out on strawberry season since it ended so abruptly due to rain. Though, it would probably be just as tasty with other fruit. I’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

