Zucchini Quesadillas

Katie:  I wanted to take advantage of the abundance of zucchinis in season, but I knew I would have to make something attractive enough to convince Flori to eat them too.  I decided to make zucchini quesadillas, based on this recipe and this recipe.  Here’s how I made them:

Zucchini Quesadillas

  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1-2 large garlic cloves
  • Zucchini – I used 3 small ones
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Kidney Beans
  • Tortillas

Heat olive oil in a non-stick skillet and sauté the zucchini and garlic with the chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.

Remove the zucchini from the pan and clean it. Add a tortilla and top it with cheese, zucchini and beans, and top it with a second tortilla. Cook it until the cheese begins to melt.  Flip it and continue cooking until the tortillas are light brown and crispy.

I served the quesadillas with Roasted Corn and Garlic Salsa, Refried Beans, and plain yogurt.  They were really good!  The salsa was little too garlicy, so next time I would use less.  I made 2 quesadillas and used the rest of the fillings to make burritos.

3 responses to “Zucchini Quesadillas

  1. They tasted absolutely amazing. Thanks for making them, Katie!

  2. Looks really good Katie. Was it spicy?

  3. The salsa was kind of spicy from the jalapeno pepper, although I only added half of one and left out the seeds. The quesadillas weren’t very spicy though.

Leave a Reply

