Green Bean Salad with Basil and Mint Pistou

Matthew: This is, by far, the tastiest and healthiest recipe I’ve made in a long time.  It is a mixture of brown rice, lentils, and green beans with a sauce (or pistou, as it’s called) made of walnuts, mint, basil, lemon juice, garlic, and olive oil.  I found the recipe on the Sprouted Kitchen blog and made a few adjustments based on what ingredients I could find.  The recipe calls for asparagus, which I’m sure would have been good, but green beans were on special, so I decided to use them instead.  I also substituted brown lentils for the black beluga lentils which I couldn’t find anywhere in the city of Madison (I went to three different grocery stores!).  But the dish turned out great with what I used.  The combination of hearty grains, slightly-crunchy green beans, and a herb/garlic mixture lead to a very satisfying meal.  I would definitely make this again.

3 responses to “Green Bean Salad with Basil and Mint Pistou

  1. Yay so glad you liked it 🙂 sorry you chased all over town for lentils, no fun.

  2. Looks good. So did you use your pestle and mortar?

Leave a Reply

