Curried Red Lentil Soup

Matthew:  I’ve made recipes with other kinds of lentils before, but never with red lentils.  I had the idea to make a curried soup with them after seeing a friend at work having a store-bought version.  I sort of made up my own recipe, looking at a few online recipes, like this, to get ideas.  I started by sauteing a bunch green onions (only the white parts) in ~1 tablespoon olive oil for a few minutes before adding 1 large clove of garlic, minced.  After about a minute, I added a heaping teaspoon of hot curry powder and 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric.  Then, I added a quart of chicken stock, a quart of water, and 2 1/2 cups of rinsed red lentils (rinsing is apparently very important).  I brought it to a boil and let it simmer for ~45 minutes.  Towards the end, I added some salt and the green part of the green onions.  To thicken the soup, I ladled a portion into the blender and pureed it.  I thought it turned out very well.  It’s nice and spicy with the curry powder.  Now, I just need some good bread to eat with it.

2 responses to “Curried Red Lentil Soup

  1. I’m impressed that you can improvise your own recipes! Your soup sounds good, although I think I’ll wait until it gets cooler outside again to make soup.

  2. Ooo! I always wanted to know what to do with those! Yum!

Leave a Reply

