Balsamic Roasted Beetroot and Orange and Rosemary Roasted Carrots

Katie:  Ever since hearing about the White House beet controversy, I wondered whether I liked beets.  Never having cooked them before, I decided to give it a try.  I found this recipe which looked good.  I followed the recipe exactly, except for only using rosemary since I didn’t have any fresh thyme sprigs.

It turned out to be an interesting side dish!  Flori tried the beets (or at least half a beet), but didn’t like them.  I thought they were good. The carrots alone would also make a good side dish.  If I make this again I’ll have to leave out the beets or serve the vegetables seperately.

5 responses to “Balsamic Roasted Beetroot and Orange and Rosemary Roasted Carrots

  1. Even though I did not like the beets, I still enjoyed the carrots a lot. Good job Katie!

  2. That is a visually appealing dish- very pretty!! Even though I too am not a beet lover!

  3. You do like beets! I have a picture of you when you were really little eating beets in your high chair!

  4. I had no idea there was a White House beet controversy! I discovered that I like beets a lot a few years ago and now I make them fairly often. My favorite way to prepare them is just to roast them in the oven with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. I also pan fry them with potatoes sometimes.

  5. Matt, how long does it usually take when you roast them? For the recipe I used, I had to boil them first, then peel them, and then roast them, which worked pretty well. I’ve also seen recipes where you have to wrap them in foil to roast them.

Leave a Reply

