Hazelnut Macaroons

Matthew: I’ve been hearing a lot about macaroons lately, so I decided to try making them.  The typical macaroon flavor is coconut, but I though hazelnut would be nice.  I used this recipe and only made the cookie part.  I toasted the hazelnuts and then rubbed them in a dish towel to remove the dark papery layer.  Then, since I don’t have a food processor, I used a blender to grind the nuts and then a hand mixer to combine the ingredients.  To pipe them onto the parchment paper, I used a ziplock bag with the corner cut off.   I decided to take a shortcut and just buy some Nutella to spread between the cookies.  They turned out really well, so I think I’ll try making other kinds of macaroons.

2 responses to “Hazelnut Macaroons

  1. I wish I could have one! Hey, you could bring one home for me this weekend. (if you have any left)

  2. Those look really good! I don’t think I’d be able to grind nuts with our hand blender though… Maybe I’ll have to get a food processor sometime.

Leave a Reply

