Challah

Matthew: Since I’m on a bread-making kick, I decided to try something different than my usual whole wheat sandwich loaf.  I’ve had challah before from Whole Foods and thought it was wonderful for sandwiches and for french toast.  Technically, it wasn’t much different from making regular bread, except for the braiding step, which I was able to accomplish by watching this video.  The dough was softer and more smooth than regular dough with the added eggs and butter.  And, to get the glossy crust, a beaten egg is brushed on just before baking.  My loaf turned out really well and was very tasty.  I’m excited to bring it in for my friends at work and to use it for french toast later!

2 responses to “Challah

  1. Wow… That’s impressive looking bread. Wish I could have some.

  2. So pretty and impressive!

Leave a Reply

