Sally Lunn Bread

Bill:  I’ve been making different bread over the last couple of weeks.  I use the bread machine to mix the dough and let it start to rise.  I then transfer the bread to a normal pan and let it rise a little longer before baking in the oven for about 25-30 minutes at 350.  Today I made Sally Lunn bread.  It turned out really well and tasted great.  My bread cookbook describes this as a very rich, European tasting bread.  Tradition says that a young Englishwoman, Sally Lunn, sold this bread on the streets of Bath in the early 1700s.

2 responses to “Sally Lunn Bread

  1. That sounds like good bread. It would probably taste really good for grilled cheese or french toast.

  2. Good idea. I had some for lunch with tuna salad that I made with carrots, celery & onions mixed in. It tasted great toasted in the oven with some cheese on top.

Leave a Reply

