Green Soups

Matthew:  Winter is always a good time for making soup, but I wanted something more fresh tasting after eating so many root vegetables over the past few months.  Luckily, I found two good recipes for green soup–the first from Nigella Lawson and the second from Jónsi & Alex.  Nigella’s soup was a pea pesto soup that only took about 15 minutes to make.  You just boil peas and then blend them with pesto.  I used four ice cubes of my homemade frozen pesto.  Jónsi & Alex’s soup was a carrot spinach soup with avocado and tomato.  I didn’t have a juicer, so I bought some carrot juice and then blended in the spinach, a garlic clove, some olive oil, and the juice from half a lime.  The diced tomato and avocado go in the bowl when serving.  Both soups were very spring-like and delicious!

6 responses to “Green Soups

  1. They both look great!

  2. Way to green for my taste!

  3. Of course I meant way TOO green 😉

  4. what does “four ice cubes of my homemade frozen pesto” mean?? this sounds like a great idea…

    • I make pesto in the summer in large quantities and then freeze it in ice cube trays into individual servings. It usually lasts through a good portion of the year that way and you can just pop out a cube whenever you want!

Leave a Reply

