Pastel de Tres Leches

Matthew:  Just in time for Cinco de Mayo, I decided to make a pastel de tres leches.  I’ve had it a couple times before at restaurants, most recently in Costa Rica, and really liked it.  I mean, anything with sweetened condensed milk has to be good, right?  The only unusual ingredient was masa harina, which is made from corn.  I was able to find it at the coop.  The recipe calls for fine ground cornmeal and all I had at home was coarse cornmeal.  There was more texture to the cake, but I was ok with that.  The cake turned out really well and I’m excited to serve some to my friends.  And, since you only use half of the three milks mixture, I might just have to make another one right away.

5 responses to “Pastel de Tres Leches

  1. That looks really good!! I’ve heard of cornmeal pound cake, but I’ve never baked anything sweet with cornmeal. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. It does look really good! How did your friends like it?

  3. Looks Really Good!!!

  4. It was delicious, and extra awesome since Matt put it in individual containers for all of us!

Leave a Reply

