Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Katie:  Whether proofreading applications, helping me outfit my not-yet-existent apartment, serving as my personal interview coach, or searching for the perfect used car, my dad has been a big help lately!  I decided I needed to do something to show my appreciation.  I usually try to choose healthy recipes, but this time I tried to find a yummy, indulgent cookie recipe.  When I spotted this recipe for Puffy Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips via Food Gawker, I knew I wanted to try it.  I had never heard of melting peanut butter before, but maybe that’s what helped these cookies be so soft and chewy.  They turned out really well!  I sprinkled a few with sea salt, but they seemed to mysteriously disappear before I could try them…  If you make these, make sure that the butter and peanut butter cool before adding them, and don’t overbake the cookies!  Judging from the positive responses, I would definitely make these again.

Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips (from How Sweet It Is)

makes about 18 cookies (I made more, about 30)

  • 8 tablespoons of salted butter
  • 6 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • sea salt (optional)

Add butter and peanut butter to a microwave safe bowl, and heat in 30 second increments, stirring each time, until melted. Let cool completely.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Whisk the flour and baking soda in a small bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix the cooled butter/peanut butter and sugars until combined. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and stir until mixed. Gradually add the flour mixture and mix until a dough forms. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Shape the dough into heaping tablespoon-sized balls. Place on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper two inches apart.  Sprinkle with sea salt, if desired, and bake for 10-12 minutes or until the cookies begin to firm up. The centers should be soft and puffy. Do not overbake. Let cool completely and then enjoy!

5 responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I think about 6-7 cookies mysteriously disappeared! Boy, were they good!!!!

  2. Those do sound really good! I don’t make cookies too often, but I would like to try making those sometime.

  3. The cookies are great! The ones with sea salt were really good, but I like them both ways. Katie, you’re welcome for all of the help!

  4. I made these cookies this weekend for a Badger game viewing party. They were delicious! It was a good peanut butter to chocolate ratio, which I find very important in peanut butter and chocolate things. Example: regular reeses peanut butter cups=good. Mini peanut butter cups=bad (needs more chocolate).

Leave a Reply

